Cloud Print Linden Sweatshirt

This year I want to sew with more knits so as a new year treat to myself I placed a Fabworks order and bought Grainline Studio’s Linden Sweatshirt pattern. The cloud print scuba from Fabworks is something I’ve had my eye on since I saw in on their website and when they announced it was nearly sold out, I snapped some up. I have enough left to make something else (maybe a skirt?) too. I also bought some magenta ponte from Boyes for the arms and bindings.

I had 2 attempts at this pattern, messing up the first time by stretching the neckline horribly out of shape trying to fit the neck band as well as only cutting one hem band and wondering why it was so small on the waist. In the end I decided to have another ago and also cut a bigger size. My first attempt was a size 0 but when trying it on, it was too close fitting for my liking (I buy my sweatshirts very oversized) so for the second attempt I cut a size 4. It’s still quite close fitting compared to some of my RTW sweatshirts but it’s roomy enough to fit a lot of layers underneath which is what I need!

img_20160121_231123.jpg
The finished product – not sure how well it goes with my flowery skirt though!

The hardest part of this was getting the neckband to stretch but in the end I managed it though I think it sticks up a little too much – hopefully top stitching will help that. Overall, I like this pattern. It’s easy and enjoyable and once all the tracing and cutting is done, quick to sew up. I have some daisy print jersey that I might make a View B version of the pattern from in the future.

4 thoughts on “Cloud Print Linden Sweatshirt

Leave a Reply

