Gingham Mimi Blouse

Continuing my theme of using patterns from ‘Love at First Stitch’, my latest pattern to use from the book was the Mimi Blouse. It uses a lot of techniques I haven’t tried for a long time including buttonholes and sleeves. I have some zebra print voile that I want to make this blouse out of but decided to make a wearable toile first from all the gingham that is sitting around in my fabric stash.

The only real problem I ran into with this pattern, was that my sewing machine ate one of the front bodice pieces when I was attaching it to yoke taking a huge chunk out of the bodice piece and the yoke. Luckily, it was only those two pieces that I couldn’t save and I had enough gingham lying around to cut two more pieces out and carry on with the make.

wpid-img_20150902_145133.jpg

(With one front bodice piece attached to the yoke)

This was also my first time making a collar, something I’m really proud of, because it sits and looks like a collar! Sure, it’s a little bit puckered at the back but overall I am very pleased with it.

wpid-img_20150903_164024.jpg

(Faced and collared)

wpid-img_20150903_182810.jpg

(The checks on checks don’t really work, let’s be honest)

To give the shirt something to make it stand out, I used some big bright pink buttons from my stash for the front which surprisingly work really well. They match the ends of my hair and when I wore the shirt out the other day they also matched my shoes bringing the outfit together.

IMG_20150927_152058

The fit on the blouse is also pretty good although the sleeves are quite tight which is something I need to look at fixing before making this up in my zebra fabric. Overall though, I am very pleased with this blouse pattern.

5 thoughts on “Gingham Mimi Blouse

  1. Cute top, and nice work on the collar. It’s pretty satisfying when you get to defeat something new like that so a bit of puckering is a small price to pay. I’ve just had the same issue with a shirt in progress -all then steam and ironing in the world isn’t making those puckers budge! Enjoy your new shirt : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

